Most people are familiar with the Second Amendment to the United States, which guarantees each individual the right to possess firearms. While the Constitution grants individuals some definite rights regarding firearms, the extent of these laws is not absolute. Instead, each state has the ability to pass laws that regulate and restrict the use of firearms.
If you or a loved one is charged with a firearm violation in Massachusetts, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can make sure that your case resolves in the best possible manner. It also helps to understand various firearm laws, which is why this article will review the most common firearm offenses in Massachusetts with which a person can be charged.
Illegally Carrying Firearms
Law in Massachusetts prohibits a person from illegally and knowingly possessing a firearm under certain circumstances. It does not matter whether the firearm is loaded or unloaded. These circumstances include if a person is present in a place of business, lacks a required firearm license, or possesses an illegal weapon.
Being charged with carrying a firearm in these situations can result in a person facing a mandatory sentence of at least 18 months in prison. Given these very strict laws, it is critical that a person who wants to carry a firearm under any circumstances, first makes sure that doing so is not against the law. It is also important if you charged with carrying an illegal firearm to immediately contact a seasoned criminal defense lawyer.
Possession of an Unlicensed Firearm
Massachusetts prohibits a person from possessing a firearm without a license or permit even if the individual only possesses the weapon at home or work.
Violations of these laws can result in a person facing up to two years in prison. As a result, you should make sure to perform adequate research about firearm laws before possessing one, which might include speaking with a seasoned criminal defense attorney.
Illegally Discharging a Firearm
It is important for individuals in Massachusetts to remember that it is illegal to discharge a firearm within 500 feet of any dwelling without first obtaining the permission of the dwelling’s owner.
While this might seem like a small offense, the illegal discharge of a weapon can result in a person facing up to three months in prison. Given the seriousness of these laws, it is important to properly screen an area before discharging a firearm. If you are charged with violating the law in this way, you should not hesitate to speak with a seasoned defense lawyer.
Carrying a Loaded Firearm While Intoxicated
It is against the law in Massachusetts for a person to carry a loaded firearm on their body or in a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
A penalty of this nature can result in a person facing up to two and a half years in prison in addition to a $5,000 fine. For this reason, it is important to avoid carrying a loaded firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Speak with a Seasoned Criminal Defense Attorney
A conviction involving a firearm offense can result in a person facing particularly serious penalties, including large fines and jailtime.
Fortunately, Attorney Edward Molari has significant experience helping individuals create a strong defense against a variety of firearm charges. If you are charged with a firearm-related offense, do not hesitate to contact our law office today for a free case evaluation.